8 Comments
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Linda Pannozzo

I just wanted to comment that you are among a very small group of investigative journalists who blow everyone else out of the water. It's frustrating and even sad that some of the hardest working journalists in this country are greatly underfunded as they work for the smaller news publishers who are not very well supported. That's where some of the best journalism is taking place. I don't really know what it will take to change that. I do what I can to support that kind of journalism - subscribe or make donations to several publications like Halifax Examiner, Narwhal, etc.. and encourage others to do so. However, I have a feeling that people are just sort of fatigued by news - especially bad news - to the point that I'm not sure how many are reading everything anymore. I probably spend an inordinate amount of time reading up on and trying to follow environmental issues, especially anything to do with forestry and wildlife habitat loss and related issues, but I must confess that even I'm getting weary to the point of barely being able (or wanting) to follow stories anymore. I don't think it's that I'm not spending as much time reading as that there is just so much coming at us from every direction that it is wearing us out -- even the hardcore news readers. A week or so ago, I made a list on the Annapolis group, of all the Nova Scotia environmental issues that the facebook groups are currently addressing. It is a very long list. I realized that I have only been following about 2/3 of the issues as there are just too many. I think the sheer volume of it is causing a lot of people to turn off. I've noticed it on some of the environmental FB groups where I am the admin. The "good news" stories get quite a few views, likes and shares. Increasingly, the "bad news" stories many less views and almost no likes and shares. That's a real switch from 3 or 4 years ago when everyone seemed keen to keep on top of things, write letters, sign petitions, submit comments on the HPMV. It feels like there is some kind of shift going on. I was feeling sort of down about what seemed like apathy, but now I'm thinking it's just part of wherever it is we are all headed. It feels like people want to be doing something positive -- like going out to do a beach clean-up, or do bird counts or blitz for lichens, or put up lawn signs - but have sort of given up on trying to address the government as it seems futile. Anyhow, I don't know if anything I've written makes much sense. This is all just stuff I've been thinking about lately -- and I'm not alone in this as I've discussed this with several others who have worked very hard on a lot of issues. We're all feeling weary and as though the bottom has sort of fallen out of the "support" from those who may not have been as involved in the past, but at least showed some interest. Maybe there's just too much going on in the world. Strange times.

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Linda Pannozzo

Thx LP, for never giving up your passion.

Expand full comment

I hold a great deal of respect for a journalist who is willing and able to look below the surface. I also am firmly convinced a free press is crucial and has tremendous power. Perhaps I am naive but it appears to this old lady that journalism “which I believe has a role to “hold power to account” is sadly lacking in todays world. In Canada , I suspect some of this problem is taxation supported journalism, and the other is large conglomerates that set the tone. In the old days advertisers perhaps set the tone, today it seems Government sets the tone -yes kick ass journalism not only should be supported but I suspect is desperately needed!

Expand full comment